“I Am The Sky”A New Branch Of Support

Mental health is always a topic that carries stigma. Some people are open about their mental illnesses, and others are not. Thomas Dyer, a caring member of a small Maine community in Orono, is taking a step forward to help those who are in need of someone to talk to for mental health support across the country. He know’s what it’s like to struggle with mental health issues, and wants to give back. He started a confidential 24/7 support line called “I Am The Sky” He has even started a Go Fund Me page in hopes that people will donate to help his non-profit organization grow even further. I spoke with Thomas today, and asked him a few questions about how this idea came about, and asked him about his hope for I Am The Sky’s future.

 

Me: Thomas, I understand that the topic of mental health is something you are very passionate about. How did this organization start?

Thomas: I Am The Sky is something that I’ve wanted to start for so many years. It’s something I’ve had in my brain for far too long. I grew struggling with depression and severe anxiety, and I was surrounded by people who I felt didn’t understand. I felt so alone, and that feeling itself makes the idea of suicide that much easier. After years of this feeling I came to realize that if people like myself could come together and help one another, we could in some way save each other’s lives. And since that day, I’ve been trying to put this project together.

Me: How did you come up with the name “I Am The Sky”? Does it have any significant meaning to you personally?

Thomas: I Am The Sky has so much meaning to me. This phrase alone kept me going. A while back I was told by a wonderful person that anxiety, depression, and fear, are all clouds in the sky, and I was the sky. And no matter how cloudy it got, no matter how bad the weather was, I’d still be there and the clouds would go away, because I Am The Sky.

Me: That is the most beautiful story. I absolutely love the name. What is your mental health story? Only share what you are comfortable sharing.

Thomas: My mental health story is lengthy I won’t lie. I’ve suffered from severe depression, social anxiety, and was diagnosed with schizophrenia when I was a kid. It was all so debilitating for me, I felt like I was trapped. I found a wonderful agency that helped me learn to cope with my problems. And after years of being a client I became a worker. I felt so alive helping people, and in return helped myself.

Me: What are your hopes for I Am The Sky’s future?

I hope that someday in the near future we can become a well known source of help for those who need it. I hope that we can, even if by a little, help people feel less alone.

Me: What would you like to tell people who are reading this article right now?

Everyone who knows me knows I say this alot, Be yourself. Love yourself, everything about yourself. Be different, and create. This life has so much to offer. There will always be a struggle, someone putting what you do down, but forget them. Show them why you are here. But always remember, You’re worth it.

 

iamthesky

Follow I am the sky today to help support others who are fighting mental health issues. One like, donation, or share could possibly save someone’s life. Here are the links:

I Am The Sky On Facebook

I Am The Sky On Instagram

I Am The Sky Go Fund Me

-Rebecca Elizabeth A Punk With MS

Leave a Reply

