The Old Me, A Memoir

I miss the days where I didn’t have to pay attention to what I ate, or how hard I pushed myself.

I miss the times where I bathed in the sun with not a care in the world. Nowadays when I’m in the heat too long, I overheat and feel ill.

I miss not having so many doctor’s appointments and having a completely open schedule to do as I please during the days I didn’t have to work.

I miss working a lot.

.technology-792180_960_720
I miss the days when my body would not attack itself, the days without dealing with one migraine after another, and the days without having to take so many pills.

Today I say goodbye to the old me, and focus on today the best that I can. I will forever miss the old me, but a part of her will always remain. You can say goodbye to the old you too, it doesn’t mean that you have to completely forget her/him. Take care of yourself and try to accept your current situation  (as tough as it may be.) Dwelling on who you used to be all the time can reopen old wounds and cause you even more unnecessary pain. You can do it, I believe in you.

los-cabos-68861_960_720

– Rebecca Elizabeth (A Punk With MS)

7 thoughts on “The Old Me, A Memoir”

  1. Lovely post and such a true message. It’s so hard to move on from your old life and I do have moments of wishing I had my old life back and wondering how it’s become how it is now, but its so important to be positive and think about the positives of new me. 🙂 Even if I do struggle to do it sometimes. xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you so much, thank you. Yes we can miss the old person we were but some people miss it so often that they can’t see the present and let it effect their current health. Making the most out of the new you is so important to stay as healthy as possible

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

